Recap: Liam Gallagher Breaks out the Tambourine at The Warfield

Liam Gallagher kicked off his US tour in San Francisco to a packed house at The Warfield. Opening nights always have a few kinks to work out and this show was no different. Luckily it only took a few scowling looks from our main man to set things at the soundboard right. By the second song Manchester’s favorite son was free to tear up the stage. Backed by a power house backing band (Chris Madden on keyboards, Dan McDougall behind the drums, Drew McConnell on bass and Mike Moore guitar), Liam came right out of the gate giving fans what they wanted with a one two punch of Oasis tracks followed by tracks off his new album As You Were.

Normally the older tracks would have stood out among the new stuff but this crowd was so fired up for Liam that he could have sang The Spin Doctors and no one would have complained. We got the Liam scowl, the tambourine, the lean and the indifferent air that we’ve all come to know and love from the Gallagher never referred to as the “nice one.”

COLLiDE Spotlight: The L.A. band The Warbly Jets was a perfect opener and you should make sure you get there early to catch them. Their sound is a scuzzy Brit Rock with just a tinge of psychedelia. Plus we jut featured their tour diary from China — some must see raucousness.

Liam’s tour continues through the states and wraps up in Philly at the end of the month before heading overseas. Check out the highlights below: 

Set list: 

  1. Rock ‘n’ Roll Star
  2. Morning Glory
  3. Greedy Soul
  4. Wall of Glass
  5. I’ve All I Need
  6. Bold
  7. For What It’s Worth
  8. Some Might Say
  9. Slide Away
  10. I Get By
  11. You Better Run
  12. Be Here Now
  13. Cigarettes & Alcohol
  14. Live Forever
photo by: David Iskra