BTS: Thompson Springs share personal photos and inspiration for new music video “Slightly Sexy”

Thompson Springs, a folk-rock band based out of Chicago, release the music video for “Slightly Sexy” (produced by Pat Sansone of Wilco), one of eight songs off their latest album, Undertones.

The band is comprised of Matt Smith (guitar/vocals), Jake Bicknase (drums), Jeff Sullivan (guitar) and David Thrift (bass).

Undertones’ songs are hazy, a blend of guitar-heavy melodies, subtle drums, relaxing vocals. Tracks like “Rainbow” and “Downswing” take on an almost classic country Western sound, while tracks such as “Slightly Sexy” and “Over the Hill” lean into a rock influence.

The music video for Slightly Sexy was shot last summer by Joe Martinez Jr. and Johnny Weichel, who worked to capture a vintage vibe. The photos Thompson Springs shared with COLLiDE were shot around the same time last summer by frontman Smith.

Check out the music video for “Slightly Sexy” below:


Stream Undertones today:



Photo by: Kayla Thornton